My ******* Blog

Octavo

USB

I've had a number of Seagate drives over the years, some of which still spin beyond their expected demise.

One that is not came from Costco, an external 2TB, 2.5" USB 3 drive.
It failed about a month out of warranty.
I opened the case, removed the drive, and put a spare SSD in.

To my surprise, both read and wrote speeds connected to a Mac Studio were abysmally about 35MBps.
As the Seagate drive was used as a Time Machine on a Mac, speed was not an issue -- so I never thought about it.

But it is outrageous for a drive labeled USB 3 to perform at that level.

Removing the SSD and placing it in one of those ubiquitous two-bay, USB 3 docking stations showed read and write speeds of 225 MBps or better.

Similarly, I recently bought a 512GB PNY USB 3.2 thumb drive at an attractive price.
Its write speed was around 38 MBps; read speed about 100 MBps higher.
An older, 256GB PNY USB 3.0 thumb drive I own has write and read speeds of 114 and 178 MBps.

The 512 GB drive went back to Amazon; I have aged, spinning hard drives with significantly faster write speeds.

USB 3.x implementation apparently varies considerably -- or quality control does.

Here is a link explaining some of the discrepancy I found.

An image from that link: Image