My ******* Blog

Secundus

Bill O'

Today ought to be **** Bill O'Reilly day. Of course, every day could be **** Bill O'Reilly day.

In Costco stores, every time I came across his books, I turned them upside down or covered them with someone else's book. It was a small thing, but it was what I could do.

I bring it up because the other night someone mentioned, in a positive way, reading one of his books.

I reacted as Bill O'Reilly's arrogant fear-mongering and predatory history has taught me to -- viscerally.

If you're the guy who mentioned him and are reading this, no offense meant to you -- it was just my utter and complete conviction that no one should mention him in a positive light.

Maybe if he had also cured cancer, I would give him a little slack.

But he hasn't.

Instead, he acted self-righteously -- like he had a monopoly on telling right from wrong.

But he dragged his wife down a flight of stairs by her neck as his children watched, initiated unwanted phone sex with colleagues, rarely had any contact with his children, and -- presumably because he earned the network more than the cost -- got Fox to pay $32 million to settle suits based on his unwanted sexual advances.

When he kidnapped my father's attention the way it happens on Fox with older, no-longer-nimble folks, I was beyond dismayed. There must be many who regret the loss of his contributions to their ability to be outraged by things that have changed since the 1950s. He knew where my dad's (and millions of others') buttons were, and he pushed them relentlessly.

So it goes, and so do they, inevitably, as the rest of the world marches away from the known and the comforting, toward a future that we can hold back about as well as the tides.

Image

See this for his family values.