My ******* Blog

Tredecim

The (dulaglu)tide comes in

There's a new treatment for Type 2 Diabetes.

It's generic name is dulaglutide, otherwise known as Trulicity.

I've been injecting it (like an epipen) for about a month, and my blood sugar testing (human pincushion, me) shows clear benefit.

Well-controlled already, the numbers I now see are more impressive.

It is one of a new class of drugs for treating Type 2, some of which are also used, off-label, for weight loss.

On a starter dose, half of what I'll be eventually switched to, I've lost about seven pounds and feel healthier.

Still in the overweight BMI range for my height, I expect to drop to the acceptable range as my weight moves slowly downward.

Nota bene: six months later, the weight loss is 20 pounds, and my 5.7 A1C is, I think, remarkable. This medicine may extend both my life and its enjoyment.

Info about the new class of treatment drugs for Type 2 diabetes here.

Image