My ******* Blog

Undecimus

ISP bill increases and decreases

As happens once a year, my ISP bill rose. This time, a touch over eighteen percent.

Inflation may be a problem, but it hasn't been that high.

I engaged in a ritual dance: calling the ISP's retention department. I told the robovoice I wanted retention and was asked if I wanted to cancel all or part of my service -- to which I lied, "Yes" -- and was handed to a human.

I pleasantly explained that my bill had risen over eighteen percent and asked what he could do for me. He examined my account and agreed to return my bill to its prior rate. Thanking him, I wished him a good day and hung up.

It took less than five minutes.

I'm not sure how many do this. I suspect that not many do but hope to be wrong.

It is an annual rite.

This year I waited a bit too long, and it resulted in one month's higher bill.

To deal more quickly with the next increase, I'll mark my calendar for the following year, when the discounts re-applied to my account expire.

And we'll dance again.

Image